The official website for the Town of Halton Hills Ontario Canada. Halton Hills includes Georgetown, Acton, Stewarttown, Glenwilliams, Norval, Hornby, Limehouse, and Terra Cotta. Get Municipal News, By-law Information, Sustainability Tips, Recreation Swimming/Skating Schedules and everything else you would need to know about living, visiting, doing business in Halton Hills Ontario.

My Favourites


    How to Use the Favourites Menu

    Active Transportation Advisory Committee



    To provide advice and input to the Town of Halton Hills on matter relating to the design, construction and funding of multi-use and inter-connecting trail systems, and cycling systems in the Town of Halton Hills.

    Terms of Reference 



    Councillor J. Fogal
    Mary Neal
    Melissa Secord
    Angelika Sommer
    Ramona Hendry
    Alice Strachan
    Glen Price-Jones
    Ryan Carney



    The Town of Halton Hills created a Bicycle Friendly Community Sub-Committee of the Town's Trails and Cycling Citizens' Advisory Committee in order to submit a successful application to the Share the Road Coalition to achieve a Bicycle Friendly Community designation. A committee was recruited that represented key areas for the advancement of cycling in the community. Recreational cyclists, retail store owners, police, engineering staff, fire personnel, health promoters, and cycling club members have all been working together to make our community bicycle friendly. 

    The application is rigorous and requires that a community illustrate progress in 5 areas: Education, Engineering, Encouragement, Enforcement, and Evaluation. Prior to submitting the application the committee assessed our current situation and found that it first needed to put in place new cycling activities and work on improvements in the areas of policy and encouragement.

    An application was made for a designation in 2012 and the Town proudly received honourable mention for its efforts.

    The committee has significantly expanded its 2013 cycling program, to encourage cycling in Halton Hills. It is anticipated that a second application will be made for a Bicycle Friendly Community designation this year.

    The sub-committee would welcome more members to assist in promoting cycling.

    Staff Contact: Warren Harris, Manager of Parks & Cemeteries 905-873-2601 Ext. 2274

    Trails Calendar List of Active Transportation Committee Meetings



    Send a message to
    *You will be copied on this email.